Inspiration

When I don’t have a lot of knitting time, I end up getting a lot of inspiration from other places. I have some ideas for a hat and mittens for Siggi based on hats we saw at Rhinebeck. I also like taking new knitting books from the library.

My absolutely favourite new knitting book is Northern Knits: Designs Inspired by the Knitting Traditions of Scandinavia, Iceland, and the Shetland Isles. I want to knit almost everything in this book. There are shawls, sweaters, hats, mittens, socks, and a bag. Everything is beautiful.

Another book that I took out but was less of a hit was Knits Men Want: The 10 Rules Every Woman Should Know Before Knitting for a Man. I thought some of the sweaters were nice, but Ingi did not agree. The only thing in there he liked was a hat. It was a fun read, though.

The Joy of Sox is another great addition to the wealth of sock books that are out there. I would buy this for my knitters’ group Christmas swap if I hadn’t already bought something awesome. If no one buys it this year, I think I will have to get it next year. A lot of fun looking patterns, including thigh high socks. I don’t think I have the endurance to knit thigh high socks (how long does that take?) but it looks like a really fun project anyway.

The other book that I would love to be on my Christmas list is Complete Feltmaking: Easy Techniques and 25 Great Projects. Although I have done a few felting projects (needle felted snowman, knitted and felted things, and hand felted pincushions), I don’t consider myself a felting expert by any stretch. This takes all of the different felting techniques and describes them, with detailed pictures, as well as providing a few sample projects for each technique. It is a great reference book to have.

I also have a new favourite graphic designer: Sandra Isaksson. I love the look of her designs, especially a lot of the stuff on the

One Response to “Inspiration”

  1. HildeC Says:

    Nothern knits looks like a beautiful book. So much inspiration everywhere. Where to start is the big question 🙂

Leave a Reply

