Keeping Warm

It seems like my knitting time is now all about necessities. After Siggi could not keep a pair of socks on (except the ones that left ugly red welts on his leg), I decided to knit a pair that were called “Stay On Baby Booties” from Knitting for Baby: 30 Heirloom Projects with Complete How-to-Knit Instructions, a book I found at a discount book shop near me.

Sure enough, they work. I knit them in Koigu, but I don’t like this yarn. They looked worn after he wore them for one day! I knit them in the 0-3 months size from the book, but his feet are so big that they are too small, really, so I’ve started a new pair with different yarn and more stitches.

I also wanted to make him some “longies”, wool tights he can wear over a cloth diaper. These are by Elizabeth Zimmerman, from Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Knitter’s Almanac.

I think the legs are a bit big for the waist; if I make a bigger pair, I’ll make the top part bigger and leave the legs the same. The yarn is some Shetland yarn that has been in my yarn stash for ages. They are really handy for chilly mornings, I’d like to have another pair and make several for autumn.

The elf doll in the picture is something my mom made for him. He really likes it; he smiles at the face. He also is starting to hold the frog rattle in the picture.

4 Responses to “Keeping Warm”

  1. Harpa J Says:

    Hann er svo mikið krútt! Gammosíurnar eru æðislegar.

  2. marit Says:

    Míkid hefur hann stækkad! Hann er rosalega sætur:-)

    Ædislegar buxur!

  3. HildeC Says:

    He really is a well dressed young man 🙂

  4. Jenna Says:

    WOW!!! He is so BIG and these pictures are months old!!!! I’m totally impressed with how much you have knit for him … Jillian, she is impressed and jealous 😉

Leave a Reply

