Design Flaw

When I was pregnant, I started a baby sweater of my own design. I used Knitting in the Old Way to get the percentages of when to decrease, and used “standard baby measurements” to get the size figured out.

Now that I have a model (underarms are not seamed and ends not woven in), I discovered that I made the ribbing WAY too small. I think the sweater itself is an OK size. So now my dilemma is how to fix it. I am thinking of cutting it and redoing the bottom and then grafting it onto the existing knitting. I’d hate to rip the whole thing out. Thoughts?

3 Responses to “Design Flaw”

  1. Jenna Says:

    I’d cut and graft. That makes the most sense to me!

  2. Sigurlaug Says:

    You can make it even easier by cutting, picking up the stitches, and knit the ribbing down, and cast of very loosely. I recommend moss stitch, and even to work the neckline back and forth with one buttonhole, since babies’s heads are so large compared to the rest, but perhaps that isn’t a problem!

  3. Harpa J Says:

    Ég mundi gera eins og Sigurlaug segir! Þetta verður fín peysa.

Leave a Reply

