Baby Socks

It’s less than 5 weeks left until my due date. I can’t believe it. I have had baby on the mind. On my last midwife visit, she gave us a list of things to have on hand for when the baby comes. We washed the newborn size baby clothes that had survived the basement, and are getting the supplies ready. It’s fun to be able to pick out the first clothes that the baby can wear after it’s born.

I’m also frantically trying to finish up my baby knitting projects.

We had to switch midwives because my midwife’s daughter is due around the same time as me, and lives really far away. My midwife had been hoping she was going to come stay with her in February, but that looks really unlikely now. It’s really sad, because I think she’s great and was looking forward to having her at the birth. Her backup is a 45 minute drive away. So at least I get knitting time in the car on the way to and from appointments.

Inspired by the list of supplies, and Silja’s beautiful socks, I felt the need to make some baby socks with leftover sock yarn.

The pattern is Better Than Booties Baby Socks, and I did the Chevron Lace pattern. It was written a little confusingly, in the pattern photo, the lace pattern is on the sides on the top, maybe I misread something, but it’s cute as it is.

This week has been a little exciting/stressful. At my midwife visit Monday, it seemed the baby had turned itself wrong side up (which if it stayed that way means an automatic surgery delivery in my area), so I was stressing over that. Then I had a doctor visit today, and the baby seems to be back to the proper position, but it looked like things might be getting in place for the baby to want to be born… so we want it to stay in there a little longer. Nothing really drastic, I am just supposed to rest and get lots of water and protein. Maybe I will get some knitting done.

3 Responses to “Baby Socks”

  1. Maggan Says:

    Oh how exciting!! I remember when I expected my kids ( I have twins) I was soo sick and tired of my big belly that I walked, and walked, baked, changed curtains… anything that would get things started 😉
    I wish you all the luck!! Big hugs from Sweden!!

  2. Kate Says:

    Only 5 weeks left to having a baby and all the good babysmell. Those socks were so cute, and the colours was just me.
    I hope you are feeling well and that the rest of the waiting time will be alright.

  3. HildeC Says:

    I hope you get all the rest you need. The socks looks great 🙂

Leave a Reply

