Gleðileg Jól

All the chaos and business of the last several days has finally died down, so I have a chance to post. We’ve had a nice lazy day today and the kids have been using the computer all day.

Ingi took a picture of the finished dress, but you can’t really see the detail because this camera doesn’t work well with a flash, it needs natural light. So maybe I will post photos of the dress itself later.

The pattern is the Regency Gown from Sense and Sensibility Patterns. She also offers her patterns as e-patterns (PDF downloads).

I made modifications to the pattern based on her instructions to make it a maternity dress, although having worked on it late at night I made a few mistakes, like forgetting to gather the top of the skirt before sewing it to the bodice, so it’s not as nicely fitted as it should be. I also had miscalculated the amount of fabric needed, as well as having bought all the rest of the fabric that was left in this print (so there was no going back for more fabric), which would have still allowed me to have a proper-length dress if I had done the adjustment correctly when cutting out the skirt pieces (since the pattern is designed to fit women of any height)… but one of the pieces was too short when I shortened it, so I ended up with a little too short of a skirt. Finally, I made the buttonholes too small, and had to dig through my buttons to find ones small enough to fit. It all worked out in the end, though.

jolakjoll

Here is a picture from the other morning, with the nice snow outside and our Christmas lights showing outside.

jolasnjor

6 Responses to “Gleðileg Jól”

  1. HildeC Says:

    I’m so impressed by the fact that you can sew your own dress.
    I hope you are having a great Christmas 🙂

  2. Maggan Says:

    Oh what an lovely dress Rebecca!! It´s amazing! And thank you for the link 😉 My daughter is obcessed with Jane Austen so maybe in the future she can sew her own dress too (and wait for Mr Darcy Lololol)
    Hope your christmas was fine! Next year you will be one more at christmas – how exciting 😉
    Take care! Hugs, Maggan

  3. Harpa J Says:

    Gleðilega rest! Kjólinn er megaflottur.

  4. HildeC Says:

    I would like to wish you a Happy and Creative New Year 😀

  5. Kate Says:

    Lovely dress, and well sewed.
    It is snowing here too no, a lot. Hope you are having a nice celebreathing of the New Year.

  6. Maria Says:

    Hey Rebecca,
    I saw your post on Knittersreview about the “old Worl Booties”. Did you every finish this pattern? I have a little one due next month and thought this would make a fun project. I don’t think I’m reading it correctly though. I’m working on the jester booties for 0-3 months old. When doing the Sole, it states to start with 38 stitches (19 of each color) and basically add 4 sts every other row (RS) until you have 62 stitches total. If I do that, it only takes 13 rows to get to 62. This doesn’t seem like it will make the sole of the shoe large enough. Am I reading it wrong?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

