Harvest and breadsticks

Apparently, this baby is off to a start on its Highland dancing career. It definitely is practising the Highland fling in there. Maybe I should knit little argyle kilt hose for it when it comes out. I think my mother-in-law would approve, she loves Scotland.

Ingi has a new job working evenings until 9:30 so I haven’t figured out if it is making me more or less productive to have the evenings to myself. So far I have done a lot of dishes and laundry.

We had some threat of frost (I am not sure if we had frost in my yard, but we had frost down the hill), so I harvested all my herbs and my kitchen is full of bunches of drying mint, lemon balm, and oregano, along with a glass of basil that I am intending to turn into pesto. I also picked all my hot peppers (jalapenos and ancho chiles) so now I have to figure out how to preserve/use them.

I made these breadsticks the other night to go with some soup. The recipe comes from some magazine from 2006 (I tore out the page so that was all the info I had). They weren’t as pretty as in the magazine photo when I made them, but they were really tasty. Another nice thing about these breadsticks is that they have a decent amount of protein (always important for me right now).

Sesame Twist Breadsticks

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups regular flour
2 Tbsp sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
8 Tbsp butter, cut into small pieces
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup sesame seeds

Combine dry ingredients. Cut in butter, until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add butermilk. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least one hour.

Roll out dough into 15×15 inch square. Brush with water and sprinkle with sesame seeds. Cut square in half and then cut each square into 15 strips.

Twist the strips twice, put on parchment-lined baking sheet, and bake at 425F for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

One Response to “Harvest and breadsticks”

  1. HildeC Says:

    A kitchen full of harvested herbs sound lovely, I’m sure it smells really good 🙂

Leave a Reply

