I really am knitting

I haven’t had a lot of time and/or energy to knit lately. I’ve been reading a lot on the bus instead. I did start a baby sweater, though:

It’s a really interesting construction, if you can tell from the picture. It’s knit from the bottom of the back up to the neck, and then split for left side and right side and knit down.

I think there is some errata in the pattern, or I miscounted when knitting. You divide for the neck and then it says to knit the right side (on your left hand). When I finished dividing for the neck and knit back, I was on the left side. So I just reversed the directions. Since it’s garter stitch, I am not sure if I made a mistake about casting off for the neck on the wrong instead of the right side or vice versa, or if there is an error.

I am using Kitten Mohair that I got in Hagkaup last time we were in Iceland. I think that knitting intarsia with mohair yarn is very, very evil. I don’t think I would ever do it again. This one isn’t even serious intarsia, it just has a few little balls of the contrast colour. They have a nasty way of getting themselves tangled and then the mohair yarn makes everyone glue themselves to each other. Despite that, I am still enjoying the sweater.

One Response to “I really am knitting”

  1. HildeC Says:

    I think the sweater looks great – beautiful colours 🙂

Leave a Reply

