Summer Reading

I have been doing a lot of reading this summer instead of knitting. A friend gave me Water for Elephants when she was done reading it, which was a very fun read.

Then on vacation, I picked up The Lobster Chronicles: Life on a Very Small Island, which is a true story of a woman who moves back home to a small island in Maine to be a lobster fisherwoman. I always find glimpses into life in small (less than 40 people) communities (especially island communities) to be fascinating.

I also picked up a used copy of The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. I can’t remember if someone recommended it on their blog, or if I just saw it around on the best sellers shelves, but the book had struck me as interesting so I figured I would pick it up. It really grabbed me right away. The author has a great use of descriptive language, and the story (as poignant as it is) really catches you and makes you want to find out what will happen in these people’s lives.

I think I will be back to classic literature when I finish that one.

Leave a Reply

