Gardening Weekend

I finished both fronts of the wrap sweater. Now I need to make the sleeves and puzzle through the instructions to understand how to make the ties.

The sweater is modeled on my wisteria bush. I love the purple blossoms and the scent of them. Beth has posted about her struggles with her wisteria bush (which she finally eradicated). This one was there when I moved in like hers. It vines up along the side of the house and into the front garden, and we are constantly cutting it back. Ingi hates it, and I understand why, but when it blooms it is just so wonderful. I wish there were an easier way to keep it controlled.

This weekend I put in a whole lot of bushes and an apple tree. I planted redcurrants, aronia berries (which I read about on Hilde’s blog), blueberries, and rhubarb.

I have been doing some reading on biointensive gardening so I wanted to try out the double digging technique out in my vegetable garden (since my soil is so heavy and rocky and I can never properly grow root crops). My wonderful husband helped me dig out a big section today (even though it’s my hobby, not his), we must have dug out about 40 rocks.

4 Responses to “Gardening Weekend”

  1. HildeC Says:

    It sounds like you’ve been working really hard in your garden, and I’m sure it will pay off. The wisteria looks sooo beautiful 😀

  2. Beth S. Says:

    Oh, how gorgeous… if my wisteria had only looked like that, I would never have cut it down! 🙂

  3. Kate Says:

    Beautiful photo from your garden, some of my flowers are starting to bllom now, and it is so lovely to watch.

  4. Maggan Says:

    OMG!!! I´m sooo jelous of you, having a Wisteria!! One of my favs and they aren´t hardy here where I live.
    They have one up against a wall in Uppsala Botanical Garden and I love it!!! It´s stunning when it´s flowering…….. 😀

Leave a Reply

