My Knitting Is Going To Be On TV

…but I probably won’t see it. Ingi is going to be in a TV commercial for his work, wearing a hat that I knit for him. However, it’s going to be aired on cable channels that I don’t think we get, so I don’t think I will get to see it. (Plus I don’t usually watch much TV anyway).

Friday night I made some really great lentil soup. I used Better Than Bouillon vegetable base instead of broth. It was much cheaper than packaged broth and way better.

I also made a a really nice bread.
Honey-grain buns
50 g pressed yeast (or 17g dry yeast + 24 ml extra water)
3 dl milk
1 dl súrmjólk (buttermilk)
70 g butter
2 Tbsp honey
150 g rye flour
25 g wheat bran (I used wheat germ because I had no wheat bran)
300 g flour
1/2 tsp salt

Heat milk to lukewarm, add yeast, and let proof. Melt butter. Add buttermilk and honey into milk mixture (plus additional water if using dry yeast). Once it is mixed well, add rye flour, butter, wheat bran/germ, and half the flour. Now add the salt (in general, salt retards the yeast action, so it’s nice to not mix them directly). Mix everything well, then sprinkle the remaining flour over the top and let rise, covered, for an hour to an hour and a half. Knead the dough lightly, adding more flour if needed. Divide it into balls (around 22-24) and set into a greased sprinform pan (10 cm). Let it rise for around another hour. Brush the bread with an eggwash and sprinkle with sunflower seeds. Bake at 200C (400F) for about 50-60 minutes.

I forgot the eggwash and seeds because I was in a hurry to get it into the oven, and it actually cooked faster than 50 minutes (maybe 40 minutes), so I would keep an eye on it as it finishes baking. I was amazed that a dough with rye flour would be so light, but it was a very light, airy bread (yet with a lot of substance at the same time). I would like to try it in a loaf form (not really sure if this amount of bread makes one loaf? More?)

3 Responses to “My Knitting Is Going To Be On TV”

  1. Jenna Says:

    Do you know which channel? Where does he work? I’ll keep a look out cause you know we’ve got way too many channels!

  2. Beth S. Says:

    This is what YouTube is for! 🙂

  3. SigrúnSveitó Says:

    Til hamingju með afmælið,

    Garnaflækjukveðjur,
    Sigrún Jó.

Leave a Reply

