Baby Gifts

I am cursed. One reason I have not been posting much, is Ingi’s laptop died. While trying hopelessly to diagnose it, I decided to fix my other Windows machine. This just completed this week. (160 GB HD + old BIOS = Bad Combination). Then. My work laptop HD died. Luckily there was another machine I could use while it was being fixed. Now my Mac just spontaneously died. That’s MY machine. The Windows machine is just the extra machine for freelancing. Clearly, I have some kind of EM fields problem with my body and should not work with electronics.

Another reason I haven’t done knitting posts in a while is my knitting project was Top Secret. The recipient reads my blog on a regular basis, and she’s having a baby girl, and the project was pink, and I KNEW it would give it away. So now that she’s received her gifts, I can share.

The hat pattern is by Bergere de France, from their cute baby magazine Tricot Baby #137. I used Katia Mississippi yarn, a lovely cotton-acrylic blend… I think this is my new favourite baby yarn.

The sock pattern was a modified version of a pattern in 2-at-a-Time Socks. Yes, I knit them at the same time, with the magic loop technique described in this book. This was my first foray into Magic Loop, and I don’t know if I like it. It remains to be seen.

I’ve also acquired some fun new CD’s:

Kate Nash’s House of Bricks, which reminds me of a cross of Bjรถrk, Fiery Furnaces, CocoRosie, Feist, and the Arctic Monkeys. (If you know these bands and think, wow, that’s a very odd mix, you would be right, but it’s still really fun.)

and of course Tricot machine, which starts out with a great song with the lyrics (translated), “Do you know how to knit? To your needles!” This album to me really is the album of the year.

4 Responses to “Baby Gifts”

  1. Jenna Says:

    I probably wouldn’t have guessed they were for me/us, but I would have been hoping ๐Ÿ™‚ Love the hat and socks. Mini-gussets … hehe!

  2. HildeC Says:

    What a cute set for the baby ๐Ÿ™‚ Congratulations on having something you’ve knitted on TV, that’s great ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kate Says:

    So cute. I have just started on a babyjacket for my cousins unborn baby, but I have good time for making it.
    How fun that your knitting will be shown on TV.

  4. Oh la la « Knitting And A Movie Says:

    […] designs. I also ordered Tricot Baby which has some really cute stuff in it (including the hat from this post). Has Interweave Knits gotten better, or are they publishing fewer magazines to create an […]

Leave a Reply

