Now it’s safe to post

I am not sure if the recipient of these mittens reads my blog, so I wasn’t sure about really blogging about them before her birthday. But I am fairly sure she will check the mail when she comes home from holiday before looking at people’s blogs, so now I can show the finished mittens:

The pattern is from Selbustrikk and the yarn is KnitPicks Palette.

We watched a few excellent French movies this weekend:
Ma femme est une actrice, a comedy with Charlotte Gainsbourg (daughter of Serge Gainsbourg) playing an actress named Charlotte with a neurotic husband (played by her real-life husband).

Tous les matins du monde, a historical movie starring Gerard Depardieu, about actual masters of the viola da gamba (they are referenced in the Wikipedia article) from the 17th century and how their lives intertwined. It’s an amazingly poignant movie with some amazing viola da gamba music; the music is done by an expert in ancient music (Jordi Savall) and it’s just brilliantly performed. (This is a really interesting instrument. A friend of mine growing up played it when I was studying violin. I found it so strange compared to what I was doing at the time, but still really fascinating.)

5 Responses to “Now it’s safe to post”

  1. HildeC Says:

    I think the mittens look great 🙂

  2. Beth S. Says:

    Beautiful work! I’m waiting for my copy of the book to arrive. Very excited about it. 🙂

  3. Kate Says:

    Wow, beautiful. I guess it will be a happy recipient.
    I’ve joined that Selbu-mittens weave too.

  4. Sonja Says:

    Beautiful mittens. I like the cuff.

    Are you on Ravelry yet?

  5. Kate Says:

    Very very nice mittens. I need to knit a pair of these too.

Leave a Reply

