Happy New Year!

And once again, I am belated with my greetings. We got back on the 1st LATE (and it always feels later coming back) and we were all back to work and school yesterday, so I had to catch up on grocery shopping last night. I hope everyone had a wonderful New Year’s celebration. There were no bonfires in Iceland, due to some rather strong winds, they were banned. But people still had their fireworks in Reykjavík. My father-in-law spent some insane amount of money on his, I think it was like 70000 ISK. Of course, the kids thought that was great.

Best Christmas present: A few days before Christmas, my feet were aching and I said to Ingi, “Can I have a pedicure for an early Christmas present?” (kidding around). He said, “Sure,” and went in the other room. I didn’t think anything of it until he came back with an envelope that he handed me: a pedicure gift certificate. And the funny thing was he was planning to give it to me early. (I didn’t end up getting to use it until the morning we were getting ready to leave for the airport, but it was still nice.)

Another great Christmas present: a huge stack of back issues of Hugur og hönd, from my mother-in-law (thanks to my wonderful husband for suggesting it to her). I have knitting patterns and reading material for ages now.

We had a great trip, full of lots of visiting and parties (2 Christmas and 1 New Years party). Sunday was awful weather, though. The winds were 25 m/s, so we didn’t do much. We did make it to the mall and IKEA to look for dishes for my mother-in-law, so I got to buy 2 dresses. I looked everywhere around me for a certain style of dress, say like this one, and there is nothing like that around here. So in Debenhams at Smáralind I managed to find ones I liked on post-holiday sale. Other great finds: a meat thermometer made in Germany (mine broke and all I can find around here are made in China) and Familiens Juleideer 2007, which I had been actually hoping to find for the felted angel pattern. So now I have all kinds of good Christmas projects for next Christmas, which is good because I was hoping to start early and do lots of projects (maybe not THIS early… but I may make one of those angels before the month is out.)

The trip was way too short but everyone had a great time and we all managed to stay healthy.

2 Responses to “Happy New Year!”

  1. HildeC Says:

    Happy New Year! I’m glad to hear you had a great trip 🙂

  2. Kate Says:

    Happy new year to you too, and welcome back from you trip.

Leave a Reply

