Taking the T out of Christmas

I saw a sign yesterday that said “Canadian Balsam Chris Mas Trees”. Who is Chris, and why does he have trees? I’ve heard people complain about Christ being missing from Christmas but that’s really excessive. Where’s Letterman when you need him?

To remind us of Christmas, I will share my Advent wreath. I’ve enjoyed seeing everyone’s much more creative ones on their blogs.

I can’t believe that it’s almost Christmas. We went to see the Nutcracker last night, but I was waiting in the cold for a bus back from work for an hour (roads were closed because of ice on a tall building which screwed up all the traffic in town today.)

Hartford was honoured by having the Simpsons movie promoted there. Which is rather odd, because Hartford is kind of a boring, conservative city, and not really a Simpsons fan kind of a place. One of my coworkers said he saw a donut floating through the sky. “Dude, you really need to eat something, ” I said, and then another coworker came back from buying cocoa later to say that there were donut balloons tied to the parking meters, advertising the Simpsons movie on DVD. Weird. Maybe the promotion was a day early by mistake, since Hannah Montana was in town the following day. (Note that Hartford hurried up to clean up the almost week-old snow for Hannah Montana. Priorities.)

We had our knitting group holiday party Wednesday. We each bring a gift and do a “yankee swap” (each person has a number and they get to pick a gift in order of the number they have, or steal someone else’s). It was totally cutthroat. Jenna and Corine and I made a swap-pact after their prized gifts were stolen, since I was last, and I got a copy of Knitting Nature out of the deal. Yay! I have so been wanting that book.

And here is the mysterious black and white project:

2 Responses to “Taking the T out of Christmas”

  1. Maggan Says:

    Hi Rebecca! I thought I´d pop in a quickie before I´ll put Lexie (my dog) in the bath, just to wish you a wonderful christmas holiday!!!
    Btw the mittens looks great! I´m thinking of knitting something like that for Martina (my daughter).
    Have a Merry Christmas my friend!

  2. Sigga Sif Says:

    Beautiful mitten!

    The swap sounds very interesting. You were obviously lucky, knitting nature is such a great book!

    Happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

