Sewage

I was originally planning this title this weekend when I was working on a sewing project (think pronounced like “sew” and then “age”), but then I saw this article on how people will be basically drinking sewage water in San Diego. Ick ick ick. It is ironically at the same time as I borrowed Animal, Vegetable, Miracle from the library. I’ve only just started reading it, but it chronicles her move from overcrowded Arizona to Appalachia, as well as her move to eat only locally grown food. It just horrifies me that people live in these crowded conditions in areas that aren’t meant to sustain that much life.

Anyway, on sewing… Dammit, Jim, I’m a knitter, not a sewer! It occurred to me this weekend that one of the things I don’t like about sewing is that it is so much like housework. In fact, it is very much like housework, since it involves so much ironing, which is my least favourite form of housework. I actually like the act of sewing, but it’s all the prep-work that I hate. I still do plenty of sewing projects, though, because I want the sewn things… but I guess I just think of it as less of a hobby and more of work.

Or maybe it’s just that I don’t like sewing curtains.

One Response to “Sewage”

  1. Sonja Says:

    I hate darning or sewing things by hand. I have to be in a very special mindset to fix clothes that way.

    I don’t mind ironing at all because ironing has never been a housework for me. I just don’t do it (and normally don’t have to do it) that often.

    I wish I could learn how to sew better. I don’t always know the easiest way to do things or how to follow a sewing pattern or the jargon of sewing. You see my problem 🙂 but I love to make the thing.

    I live in the foothills of Appalachia and I agree. It´s a much healthier place to live in and you can tell. People are just so much nicer here.

Leave a Reply

