It’s Beginning To Smell A Lot Like Christmas

OK, so I fell off the posting-every-day wagon. Whoops. Friday was a lazy day, I had a vacation day and we were going to do something fun but couldn’t come up with something everyone agreed with, so walked down to the centre of town and did a few errands, did some things around the house, that sort of thing, and I looked at the clock and saw it was past midnight and I had forgotten to post a blog entry. So then yesterday I was less inspired, it’s like, what’s the point now? Oh well.

The Boy Scouts were selling holiday wreaths (this is how their troop raises money to keep things going) and yesterday was the day to pick them up. The unheated room in my house where the wreaths are being stored until they are finished being decorated and delivered smells so Christmas-y. It kind of bugs me how everyone jumps on the holiday before it even happens, but there is something fun about the roomful of wreaths and the smell of them. I love the Christmas season, I just hate how it gets so commercialized.

I have officially started getting weird search terms landing on my blog: “how to make a skirt out of old pans”. Now, I have made a skirt out of old army pants before (I never did do photos of that, and I wore it trimming the bunny’s fur and he has this bad habit of biting my pants when I groom him, so the thing is all ratty with bunny-bit holes in it and I wear it around the house in the summer). But old pans? I’d like to see that. The only way I can figure it would work is if you had maybe steel or aluminum pans and you smelted them and then cast them into rings and hooked them together, like chainmail or something. That would make one heck of a metal-working project. I wonder if the person ever did figure out how to make a skirt with old pans. I used to have friend who made chainmail, he would make little rings of wire and hook them together while watching TV… I always thought that was kind of like his version of knitting.

One Response to “It’s Beginning To Smell A Lot Like Christmas”

  1. Sonja Says:

    I´m sure they ment pants. People usually don´t use their best spelling while searching for some reason. Which is odd, because you would probably get much better results 😮

Leave a Reply

