Process versus product

WordPress has a fun feature where I can see what keywords people search on. I haven’t had this version of my blog going for long, but I am already starting to accumulate odd searches. Someone found me with “how to make havarti” so if anyone is really interested, there is a link here. There have been a bunch about how to make a dinosaur sweater. Hopefully people can find that pattern when they have the pattern maker to search on. Or maybe they want to make a sweater for a dinosaur, good luck with that. I have a hard enough time finishing sweaters for myself.

I was thinking the other day about how there are product knitters and process knitters. I am definitely a product knitter, this is why I get distracted from projects, because there is something that I really want to have. Like right now, I really want more knee socks. I have lots of things I need to finish first, but I really wish I could cast on for a pair of knee socks. The same goes for a cardigan sweater. I am thinking of one of the ones from the latest Knitty, I have some stash yarn that I want to use up and everything. But if I were a better “product” knitter, then I wouldn’t get so bored with stockinette. I need enough process to keep things interesting.

I had to bake a pie for a bake sale today. This one is really good. You could decorate it with melted chocolate through a pastry bag if you are feeling extra decadent.

Chocolate Chip Pecan Pie
2 eggs
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 cup butter, melted and cooled
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup chopped pecans
9 inch diameter pie crust

Preheat oven to 325F/160C. In a large bowl, beat eggs, then beat in flour and sugars until well mixed. Mix in the melted butter. Stir in the chocolate chips and pecans, and pour into the pie crust. Bake for one hour. Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream.

(And once again, for anyone keeping track, it’s still Friday here. So I have still posted every day this month in my time zone so far despite WordPress’s attempt to keep me on Iceland time.)

Leave a Reply

