Preparing for frost

After doing the book meme, it was somehow appropriate that a library near me was having a used book sale. K and I went to the $5 for a bag of books sale, and got a decent bounty, including Grettir’s saga and a very cool old Deustche lieder book (looks nice on the piano), and a couple of classical records, and some sewing books, among which were these:

The knitting one is very cool, it has tables with common knitting terms in Spanish, French, English, German, and Swedish. Plus of course the requisite tons of stitch patterns, which was the main reason I got it. The sewing one is just too funny. I love the title, “A Modern Guide To Successful Sewing” and the very dated costumes on the cover. It probably is a useful book too, I haven’t yet read it.

I also had a little time to work on the flower motif on my felted bag. I really wanted to continue the light blue through 4 rows of the flower, but I miscalculated when frogging the light blue and didn’t leave myself enough to work with.

We had a frost last night, so Saturday I was trying to get ready. I pulled in all the green tomatoes and made a pie.

We are trying to finish painting the exterior of all the windows in the house, so I scraped them a little bit. I also wanted to build a cold frame for some salad that I had started, with the plan to keep it over the winter, but because of the house window business I haven’t had time. I am not sure if my little plants are dead yet or if I can throw something together with bricks and old windows.

Green Tomato Pie
(From The Best of Amish Cooking by Phyllis Pullman Good

4 cups thinly sliced green tomatoes
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 Tbsp lemon juice
2 tsp cinnamon (I boosted the spices, they are never enough in recipes if you ask me)
1 tsp cloves
1 Tbsp butter
2 Tbsp flour
1 pie crust (top & bottom)

Put pie crust into pan and sprinkle with the flour. Cover it with the tomato slices. Mix together remaining ingredients (except butter) and layer over the tomatoes. Put cut pieces of butter over that, and then cover with the top pie crust. Cook for 15 minutes at 425F(220C) then 30 minutes at 375F (190C).

I also saw a really nice recipe for Salsa Verde which you can substitute green tomatoes for.

One Response to “Preparing for frost”

  1. HildeC Says:

    I’ve never heard of a pie made with green tomatoes. I’ve got to try that sometimes. Thank you for posting the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

