Book Meme

Sonja invited me to do this meme, so here it is. Maybe my husband will play along and do it too.

1: Hardcover or paperback, and why?

I like reading paperbacks, because they are portable. I can take them on the bus, on a plane trip, or read them in the bathtub. (I ruined the hardcover Jonathan Strange by accidentally dropping it into the bathtub.) But I love hardcovers for the shelves, they look so much nicer.

2: If I were to own a book shop, I would call it…

Why would I own a book shop, when there are two nice local book shops near me? I guess I should go with the ultra corny answer and say Rebecca of Sunnybook Farm.

3: My favourite quote from a book (mention the title)

“Deep within every blind, absolute love grows the hatred towards the beloved, who now holds the existing key to one’s happiness.” — Miss Smilla’s Feeling For Snow

4: The author (alive or deceased) I would love to have lunch with would be…

Kurt Vonnegut, maybe. We were so lucky to see him speak at an authors’ forum maybe a year or so before he died. He was obnoxious and opinionated and funny and fascinating.

5:If I was going to a deserted island and could bring only one book, except for the SAS survival guide, it would be…

War and Peace. I’ve yet to read it, and it’s long, so it would keep me busy for a bit. Plus it would be a good excuse to read it.

6: I would love someone to invent a bookish gadget that…

I could truly use to read and knit at the same time. There are those book weight things, but then you have to stop and turn the pages. Really, something that could hold the book and turn the pages would be good when brushing my hair too. Reading on the computer just isn’t the same, and I hate books on tape. I space out and can’t pay attention. I must not be an aural learner, which is weird because I am musical.

7: The smell of an old book reminds me of…

My grandmother. She would have all these old books on the occult and religion and strange mysteries, like Easter Island.

8: If I could be the lead character in a book (mention the title) it would be…

Someone in a Margaret Atwood book. Not any particular book or character, but she always has these strong female characters.

9: The most overestimated book of all times is…
On the top ten best seller list at any given time.

10: I hate it when a book…

Leads you in thinking that it is going to get better if you just keep reading, and then never actually does, making you waste all that time reading. Flash House and Citizen Girl both did this to me.

One Response to “Book Meme”

  1. Sonja Says:

    Frábær svör. Takk fyrir að taka þátt.

Leave a Reply

