Happy Birthday, Peter Tosh

Today would have been Peter Tosh‘s birthday. I love listening to the radio, it’s like getting a surprise. However, around me most stations are pop stations that play the same 5 songs, which is nothing like getting a surprise. Today I was running an errand and a university reggae show played a little tribute to Peter Tosh with some old Bob Marley & the Wailers songs and a few of his solo songs. I have the Specials cover of Maga Dog and never heard their version before today, or maybe I did, driving around with a Jamaican friend in high school, but I don’t remember it. The old version is much better.

No interesting knitting photos. More grey sock. More blue stuff (this times sleeves for my nephew’s dinosaur sweater). So I will give a few book reviews instead.
Sew What! Skirts
This book is about the price of a regular sewing pattern. It’s nothing earth-shattering, but it’s a great reference. It dissects the concept of sewing simple skirts (a-line, circle, wrap), and tells you how to measure to draft your own pattern. To me, it’s totally worth it. My mother is a recipe person, so I never really learned to free-form my own sewing patterns too well, unless they were simple shapes. Even with knitting, I don’t know a whole lot about fitting, just things like socks and mittens. I can’t wait to try drafting some skirt patterns.

Lotta Jansdotter’s Simple Sewing
I knew I wanted this book. I even got to flip through it in a bookshop. I finally broke down and bought it. I pretty much want to make everything in it. Again, this is a great place to get creative ideas to make things from.

Tomorrow we are planning to go to Rhinebeck, after all the annoying things in the morning. Can’t wait!

One Response to “Happy Birthday, Peter Tosh”

  1. Sonja Says:

    Thanks for the review. I´ve been eye-ing these books. Too bad we don´t live close, I could just take a look at them by myself. Oh yeah, BTW, Athens doesn´t have a ´big box´ book store either 🙂

Leave a Reply

