Doll Pants

(for the reference, see the music video here)

I can’t model them on the doll because I don’t have a Baby-Born like my niece. But I made her some pants for her doll from this pattern. (I didn’t quite understand the instructions for the casing, there was an extra instruction that I didn’t get. Any Norwegian speakers want to help me to make sure I didn’t miss anything?)

I am completely exhausted. We went to New York yesterday to see Of Montreal in concert. (If you will be in Iceland for Airwaves, I highly recommend checking them out next week. Or if not, try and catch them, they have a very entertaining stage show). There was a very silly rap band opening for them called Grand Buffet. We didn’t think most of the people got those guys, but they were really funny.

Anyway, I don’t recommend walking from Grand Central Station to Greenwich Village when you have somewhere you actually want to be later (and are therefore walking fast). As a wandering around kind of walk I guess it isn’t bad, if you are used to walking. And I also don’t recommend trying to count on getting a cab, since 5 of them that were empty ignored us. The subway is really not that bad once you figure it out, it’s more confusing than the T in Boston. Besides the show and walking, we didn’t do a whole lot. We went to Bleecker Bob’s record shop, we walked through Washington Square Park, we checked out a flea market, we walked through the farmers’ market (which was very cool but way too crowded–there was yarn and meat and cheese there! I almost bought yarn, but we were focused on getting lunch at the time). I walked past Lush and American Apparel and Strand Books and a really neat looking cinema, IFC Center. Since our trip was all about the show, I didn’t drag the family to yarn/fabric places; besides which, it looks like we are going to Rhinebeck next weekend.

We got home at 4 in the morning and I am still very sleepy, since I had to wake up around 8-ish. And Ingi is trying to quit smoking (it’s the 5th day if my sleepy brain did the math right), so feel free togo give him some encouragement.

3 Responses to “Doll Pants”

  1. Kate Says:

    The dollpants looks really fine to me, so just keep on knitting after Norwegian patterns, you are clever. Rhinebeck sound so fun, wish you a pleasant time there.

  2. HildeC Says:

    I can’t see that you’ve missed anything, but if you write the sentence you are wondering about, I can try and translate it for you 🙂

  3. HildeC Says:

    The sentence “Trekk en strikk gjennom” means that you shall put some kind of elastic waistband into the casing. The word “strikk” in this context means an elastic band/string. I guess that makes sense? 🙂

Leave a Reply

