A-maize-ing

I haven’t posted in a while because things have been insane busy at work.

I have been on the lookout for good non-wool sock yarns that don’t come in fancy pretty colours. Kind of a difficult search, isn’t it? Then the other week when I was getting a replacement needle for a sweater that I abandoned a long time ago, I found Crystal Palace Maizy, 82% corn fiber, 18% elastic nylon, per the label. It’s an interesting yarn to work with. It’s a little bit annoying, because the fibers are kind of loosely plied and they keep separating as I knit. And then, I am working on the apparent Cursed Sock which I have had to frog twice, and this yarn is not so forgiving about frogged and re-knit repeatedly.

But it does have kind of an interesting texture knit up. I think it would be very nice yarn for a baby garment; it has a slightly bumpy texture and it is very soft. So here is the sock in its first incarnation (now I have not quite re-knit to where it was at this point):

(If anyone notices, a lot of my pictures seem to have the same backdrop. That is because my house is surrounded by trees and there are only like 3 spots in my house where I can get decent enough natural light to take a decent photo.)

2 Responses to “A-maize-ing”

  1. HildeC Says:

    Corn fiber? I’ve never heard of that, but there obviously are interesting things happening in the fiber making world. It’s nice that you give a review 🙂

  2. Cassie Says:

    I recently saw pillows stuffed with Ingeo (corn fiber). The sock yarn, however, sounds interesting. I just finished my Tofutsies socks and absolutely love them. I’ll have to keep my eyes open for Maizy. I’ll try anything that comes in solid colors, and corn fiber is hard to resist.

Leave a Reply

