Holiday on the Moon

So it’s been a long time since I posted. First, I was having ISP troubles. Then, we went on a trip to Niagara Falls, Canada. We weren’t expecting the Las Vegasiness of it all. Still, it was fun. Niagara Falls IS pretty, and they light the waterfalls up at night. (We don’t think they are as pretty as Gullfoss, but they are still beautiful). We went on a boat ride right next to the falls where you get sprayed by the mist, highly recommended. We went through a manmade tunnel behind the falls, it was OK, but not really worth the wait, and nowhere near as nice as walking behind Seljalandsfoss. We went to lots of attractions for the kids, including glow-in-the-dark indoor mini golf (very cool) and Ripley’s Believe It Or Not museum. We went to a drive-in movie and saw the Simpsons and Stardust (both fun). We went to a historical house for one of my Scottish clansmen that was used as a hospital during the war of 1812. We went to the Jell-O museum in the birthplace of Jell-O, LeRoy, New York. It was a great family vacation, and my biggest piece of advice is to stay in a hotel with a kitchen if you go to Niagara Falls. The restaurant food is overpriced and not that good. We were so happy for having chosen this option.

I have no trip pictures at the moment, waiting for them to be developed, so I will post them after. I worked on MS3 in the car and am getting closer to done, I am in the last stretch but now I am a little sick of working on it, so I picked up a very old UFO. (Pictures soon of both). I also spent a lot of my trip reading The Night Watch.

While checking out the new books in my library, I came upon Knit Fix and Fabric Leftovers. KnitFix is mainly geared at beginners, but has a lot of tips for even advanced knitters (a list of problems and how to fix them). I’m thinking it might be a good book to have around. Fabric Leftovers has some fun ideas, including sewn flowers and coffee cup holders, to use up scraps of fabric. I’m not sure that I would buy it, but I might like to have it…she has some creative ideas to use to spark one’s imagination.

So here are a few photos, a wool soaker (diaper cover) for a friend, made with the self-striping Polygonum persicaria yarn that I dyed:

And some goodies from my much-neglected garden: kale, calendula blossoms, edamame, and Chinese long beans:

One Response to “Holiday on the Moon”

  1. the woolgatherer Says:

    The Fabric Leftovers book looks interesting- I’ll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

